Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Former Oklahoma State NCAA champion Fred Davis to receive the Gallagher Award

Fred Davis is 2007 Recipient of the Gallagher Award

STILLWATER, Okla. (OSU Athletics ) - Former NCAA champion Fred Davis is the recipient of the 2007 Gallagher Award, to be presented before the Oklahoma State-Iowa dual in Gallagher-Iba Arena on Friday.

The Gallagher Award is ≥presented annually to an OSU wrestling alumnus who exemplifies the spirit and leadership eminent in the tradition of champions.≤

"There has been some fine people win the Gallagher Award," Davis said.
"There have been some great wrestlers from the past and I am certainly honored to receive that distinction."

Davis was a three-time All-American at Oklahoma A&M from 1954-56. He helped lead the Aggies to three NCAA team titles, and captured an individual title at 167 pounds in 1955. Davis took home fourth in 1954, and he closed out his collegiate career with a runner-up finish in 1956.

Davis went into teaching once he finished competing in 1957. He spent three years teaching physical education at a junior high school, before he helped open McLain High School in Tulsa and start the wrestling program.

In 1964, Davis left to assume the head coaching position at Brigham Young University. He spent 20 years at the helm of the Cougar wrestling program where he coached 18 All-Americans and 59 Western Athletic Conference champions. BYU claimed the conference championship in 15 of his 20 seasons, and it finished runner-up four times.

BYU had its best finish in program history in 1973 when Davis guided the Cougars to fourth place at the NCAA Championships. He was honored as the NCAA coach of the Year for his efforts. That same year he served as president of the National Wrestling Coaches Association.

BYU finished sixth in 1978, its only other top-10 finish in school history. Davis resigned from the helm of the BYU program in 1984 so that he could return to Tulsa and spend time with his aging mother.

He returned to teaching and took over the wrestling program at Bishop Kelley High School in Ć84. Davis coached five state champions during his tenure at Bishop Kelley and led the Red Comets to a state runner-up finish in 1986.

Davis retired from coaching and teaching in 1999. He lives in Tulsa with his wife, Deon, and he has three children: Tannaca Wright, DaNette Azierre and Fred P. Davis III and five step daughters.

Past Winners of the Gallagher Award
1986 ≠ Rex Peery
1987 ≠ Frank Lewis
1988 ≠ Myron Roderick
1989 ≠ Tommy Chesbro
1990 ≠ Joe McDaniel
1991 ≠ John W. Divine
1996 ≠ Ray Murphy
1997 ≠ John Smith
1998 ≠ Grady Peninger
1999 ≠ Kenny Monday
2000 ≠ Pat Smith
2001 ≠ Kendall Cross
2002 ≠ Mike Sheets
2003 ≠ Doug Blubaugh
2004 ≠ Grover Rains
2005 ≠ Bobby Douglas
2006 ≠ Charles Hetrick
2007 ≠ Fred Davis

Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.