Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Collegiate All-Star Challenge set for Sioux City, Iowa, Dec. 30

Outstanding College Wrestlers to Compete in All-Star Event;
Sioux City to host Collegiate All-Star Challenge on Sat., Dec. 30

SIOUX CITY, IOWA - December 6, 2006 - Some of the finest college wrestlers from around the country are set to compete in the inaugural Collegiate All-Star Challenge on Saturday, December 30, 2006. The event will feature clashes between top-ranked wrestlers from NCAA Division II and Division III, the NAIA and the nation's Junior Colleges in each of ten weight classes.

Four returning national champions and four number one-ranked wrestlers head the line-up for the 7:00 p.m. start at the Long Lines Center (adjacent to the Tyson Events Center) in Sioux City, IA.

Match-ups confirmed at this time include (individual ranking in parentheses):

133 pounds: (2) Jestin Hulegaard - Buena Vista vs. (3) Burke Barnes - Dana

141 pounds: (3) Terrance Almond - Dana vs. (4) Chris Frejie - Western State

149 pounds: (1) Mark Dickman - Lindenwood vs. (1) Mikel Delk - Ft. Hays State

165 pounds: (1) Jake Dieffenbach - Lindenwood vs. (6) Blake Peterson - Truman State

197 pounds: (2) Nate Buys - Augustana vs. ('05 NAIA Champion) Jesse Laber - Mary

285 pounds: (1) Sam Sand - Jamestown vs. (3) Andrew Ubben - Ft. Hays State

Other wrestlers slated to participate include: (1) Jasper Lockett - Missouri Valley, (1) Andrew Lacroix - Roger Williams, (2) Abel Trujillo - William Penn, (3) Joe Soto - Iowa Central, (3) Austin Scarset - Augustana and (5) Cody Henriksen - Augustana.

"The response by the national wrestling community to this event has been phenomenal. What a fantastic way for wrestling fans to honor these great athletes for their hard work and dedication to the sport," stated Tim Tushla, Event Director. "The Siouxland area has demonstrated tremendous support for wrestling events such as the NAIA National Tournament and the USA Wrestling World Team Tirials, we expect nothing less for the Collegiate All-Star Challenge."

All tickets are general admission and will be available only at the door. Adult tickets are $10 and children under age 12 are $5.

Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.