Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

UNI's Baima named Western Wrestling Conference Wrestler of the Week

CEDAR FALLS, Iowa - University of Northern Iowa senior wrestler Nick Baima has been named the Western Wrestling Conference Wrestler of the Week as announced by league officials on Tuesday.

Baima (Glen Ellyn, Ill./Glenbard West HS) won the 165-pound Elite Division championship at the Kaufman-Brand Open in Omaha, Neb. Baima rolled to a 20-5 technical fall over North Dakota State's Andy Quittschreiber before tallying an 11-3 major decision over Lindenwood's Randy VanderVeen in the quarterfinals. Baima, ranked as high as No. 4 nationally, scored a quadruple overtime win over Northern Illinois' Johnny Galloway in the semifinals to advance to the championship match.

Galloway was ranked No. 10 in the NWCA/Intermat preseason poll. Baima then won the crown with a forfeit win over defending national champion Johny Hendricks (Oklahoma State).

The Western Wrestling Conference is comprised of seven schools including the Air Force Academy, North Dakota State, Northern Colorado, Northern Iowa, South Dakota State, Utah Valley State and Wyoming.

Other nominees: Air Force: Tyler French, 174, Fr., Malta, Mont. Northern Colorado: Kenny Hashimoto, 141, So., Thornton, Colo. North Dakota State: Eric Hoffman, 125, Jr., Davenport, Iowa. South Dakota State: Ryan Meyer, 165, R-Fr., Parkston, S.D. Wyoming: Carter Downing, 149, Jr., Woodruff, Utah.
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.