Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Brent Metcalf wins championship at Clansmen International

BURNABY, British Columbia - Brent Metcalf may not be eligible to compete collegiately this season.

But that hasn't stopped him from winning wrestling tournaments.

Metcalf, a University of Iowa freshman, made his mark on Saturday night at the Clansmen International when he captured the 66 kg/145.5 pound freestyle title. The event was held at Simon Fraser University in Canada.

Metcalf transferred to Iowa after redshirting at Virginia Tech and may be ineligible to compete this season since Virginia Tech did not release him from his scholarship. But the Junior World Team member still managed to win his first significant freestyle title on the Senior level.

Metcalf downed Chris Prickett of Guelph in the finals. Veteran Eric Larkin (Sunkist Kids) placed fourth at 66 kg.

Metcalf was joined in the freestyle winner's circle by Americans Travis Lee (New York AC) at 60 kg/132 pounds, Mike Mangrum (Bronco WC) at 63 kg/138.75 pounds, Kirk White (Bronco WC) at 74 kg/163 pounds, Tony Gansen (Sunkist Kids) at 84 kg/185 pounds and Nik Fekete (New York AC) at 96 kg/211.5 pounds.

The remainder of the freestyle champions included Zack McCormack (SALIS) at 50 kg/110 pounds, John Pineda (Burnaby Mountain WC) at 55 kg/121 pounds, Arminder Virk (BMWC) at 70 kg, Pat McDonald (BMWC) at 80 kg and Jamie Cox (Guelph) at 120 kg/264.5 pounds.

Women's champions included Lindsay Rushton (Guelph) at 48 kg/105.5 pounds, Erica Sharp (Univ. of Calgary) at 51 kg/112 pounds, Tonya Verbeek (Brock) at 55 kg/121 pounds, Jazzie Barker (UCWC) at 59 kg/130 pounds, Kaci Lyle (Sunkist Kids) at 63 kg/138.75 pounds, Randi Miller (USA) at 67 kg/147.5 pounds, Ali Bernard (Univ. of Regina) at 72 kg/158.5 pounds and Megan Goldsmith (UCWC) at 80 kg.

The tournament featured additional weight classes than the seven used in most international events. There were 11 divisions for men and eight for women.

A list of placewinners can be found in the Results section on

Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.