Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Johnson captures USA Wrestling Ultimate Dominator Award

CEDAR FALLS, Iowa - Michael Johnson Jr. of Illinois became the fourth winner Sunday of the coveted USA Wrestling Ultimate Dominator Award.

He earned the award at USA Wrestling's ASICS Kids/Cadet Folkstyle National Championships on Sunday at the UNI-Dome. Johnson finished with 14,800 points.

Clark Glass of Florida, who won the award last year, finished second in Division III (13-15 year olds).

Jason Luster of Georgia won Division II (11 & 12 year olds) with 12,800 points, followed by Hunter Weber of Wisconsin and Glenn Climmons of Georgia.

Johnson was followed in Division I (9 & 10 year olds) by Dylan Lucas of Florida and Brandon James of Indiana.

Alan Waters of Missouri won Division III with 13,000 points with Glass 200 behind.Gregory Amos of Missouri was third.

The Kids/Cadets Folkstyle Nationals was the final tournament of the 10-event Ultimate Challenge Series of Folkstyle Wrestling, sponsored by USA Wrestling.


There were 68 wrestlers who took their first step toward becoming a 2006 USA Wrestling Triple Crown winner by earning gold medals at the Kids/Cadet Folkstyle National Championships.

Sharky Slyter of Kansas won his fifth consecutive national title at this event. Slyter captured the Cadet 91-pound title, beating Missouri's Alan Waters 2-1 in the finals.

Among the other repeat champions were Brett Lunn of Illinois (Schoolboy 70), Mark Grey of New Jersey (Schoolboy 75), Jason Luster of Georgia (Schoolboy 120) and Cullen Hood of Kansas (Novice 65).

Winners of the Kids/Cadet Folkstyle National Championships are now eligible to win the coveted USA Wrestling Triple Crown. Those athletes must continue to win at their respective freestyle and Greco-Roman national championship events. Winners of national titles in all three styles will be awarded the Triple Crown award.

The Kids Freestyle and Greco-Roman National Championships will be held June 28 through July 1 in Green Bay, Wis.

The Cadet Freestyle and Greco-Roman National Championships will be held July 22-29 in Fargo, N.D.


Michael Kelly of Illinois, Anthony Porcelli of Iowa and Mark LeVasseur of Minnesota captured their third straight titles at the third Veterans Folkstyle National Championships which were held in conjunction with the Kids/Cadet National Championships at the UNI-Dome.

Kelly won the Division A title at 168 pounds on Saturday. He won two matches by technical fall, one by fall and beat runner-up Rudolph James of Minnesota 3-1 in his other match.

Porcelli edged Art Gonzalez of Arizona 4-2 and 4-3 to win the Division B title at 188 pounds. LeVasseur was unopposed in Division C at 128 pounds.

Other repeat champions in Division B included Mike Jozwowski of Wisconsin at 152 and John Richter of North Dakota at 215. Other repeat champs in Division C included Bruce Moe of North Dakota at 168 and Dave Ullom of Iowa at heavyweight. Pat Ancil of Florida repeated as Division D champion at 168.

At Cedar Falls, Iowa, April 8
Div. A champions

128 - Jason Goldman (NY); 139 - Scott Thurber (WI); 168 - Michael Kelly (IL); 188 - Roy Reyes (FL); 215 - Joey Chyma (IA).
Div. B champions
139 - Bobby Jon Bauman (WI); 152- Mike Jozwowski (WI); 168 - Sean Poston (IL); 188 - Anthony Porcelli (IA); 215 - John Richter (ND); Hwt. - Steve Nohns (IL).
Div. C champions
128 - Mark LeVasseur (MN); 139 - Steve Hart (CO); 152 - J.D. Hawkins (CA); 168 - Bruce Moe (ND); 188 - Mark Morgan (MS); 215 - Mike Fletchall (MI); Hwt. - David Ullom (IA).
Div. D champions
168 - Pat Ancil (FL); 188 - Michael Cordes (IL); Hwt. - Mark Dulgarian (KS).

All other tournament results are available on

Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.