Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

The 2006 Dave Schultz High School Excellence winners announced for 48 states

STILLWATER, Okla. -- The National Wrestling Hall of Fame & Museum in Stillwater, Oklahoma has announced its 2006 state winners of the Dave Schultz High School Excellence award. This annual award is bestowed upon high school seniors who demonstrate excellence in wrestling success, scholastic achievement, character, citizenship and community service.

The award, named in honor of Olympic and World Champion Dave Schultz, has recognized 528 wrestlers since its inception in 1996.

"A graduate of Palo Alto High School and the University of Oklahoma, Dave Schultz was one of the greatest and most well-liked high school, collegiate, and international wrestlers the United States has ever had" said Lee Roy Smith, Executive Director of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame.

Regarded as a tireless competitor and supreme tactician on the mat, he was beloved throughout the world of amateur wrestling for his friendliness and eagerness to lend help or advice to teammates and opponents alike. Schultz was inducted into the sport's Hall of Fame as a Distinguished Member in 1997.

State-by-state winners were selected from the 48 states that sponsor interscholastic high school wrestling championships. Five regional winners will be selected from the 48 state winners on April 14, and from that group, one individual will be selected as the national winner. The national winner will be invited to Honors Weekend, June 2-3, in Stillwater to receive his award.

Following are a list of the 2006 winners by state and school.

State/Winner's Name/High School

Alabama - Forrest Millsap, Homewood
Alaska - Eli Hutchison, Skyview
Arizona - Anthony Robles, Mesa
California - Billy Murphy, Hughson
Colorado - Quinten Fuentes, Roosevelt
Connecticut - Mike Powers, Loomis Chaffee
Delaware - Andrew Bradley, St. Marks
Florida - David Craig, Brandon
Georgia - Nate Carr Jr., Jones County
Hawaii - Brandon Low, St. Louis
Idaho - Adam Hall, Bonners Ferry
Illinois - Jim Kennedy, Grant Community
Indiana - Paul Young, Bloomington South
Iowa - T.J. Sebolt, Centerville
Kansas - Jessie Strawn, Holton
Kentucky - Jacob Murton, Lawrence County
Louisiana - Mike Newberg, Parkway
Maine - Josh Pelletier , Foxcroft Academy
Maryland - Mack Lewnes, Mount St. Joseph
Massachusetts - Brian Sheehan, Lowell
Michigan - Jon Reader, Davison
Minnesota - Mike Thorn, St. Michale
Missouri - Zack Bailey, Oak Park
Monatana - Cole Dallaserra, Butte
Nebraska - Matt Vacanti, Papillion-La Vista
Nevada - Bryce Saddoris, Spring Creek
New Hampshire - Eric Morrill, Timberlane Regional
New Jersey - Mike Grey, Delbarton
New Mexico - John Paul Maynes, Silver
New York - J.P. O'Connor, Oxford Academy
North Carolina - Bryan Sigmon, Brandys
North Dakota - Scott Glasser, Bismarck
Ohio - Lance Palmer, St. Edward
Oklahoma - Lance Thompson , Stillwater
Oregon - Zach Giesen , North Valley
Pennsylvania - Matt Dunn, Reynolds
Rhode Island - Ted Coppa, North Kingston
South Carolina - Matt Leach, Greenville Eastside
South Dakota - Brett Jarman, Canton
Tennessee - Corey Manson, Baylor
Texas - Ben Ashmore, Bishop Lynch
Utah - Levi Mele, Uintah
Vermont - Corey Greene, Mount Anthony
Virginia - Jordan Frishkorn, Great Bridge
Washington - Brandon Sitch, Kelso
West Virginia - Joey Lindamood, Parkersburg
Wisconsin - Trevor Bradvold , River Falls
Wyoming - Josh Sainz, Star Valley
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.