Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Michiganís Tannenbaum replaces Masa in 40th All-Star Classic

Manheim, Pa. - University of Michigan All-American Eric Tannenbaum has been selected to replace Hofstra' Jon Masa at 149 pounds in the 40th NWCA All-Star Classic presented by the United States Marine Corps.

Tannenbaum, a red-shirt sophomore, placed fourth last season at the NCAA Championships in St. Louis after winning the Big 10 Championship at 149 pounds.

He went 36-5 in 2004-05, including 15-1 in dual meets.

Esposito beat Tannenbaum 7-2 in the semifinals of the 2005 NCAA Championships.

This is Tannenbaum's first appearance in the All-Star Classic and he is the second replacement from the original lineup. Last week, Cal Poly's Darrell Vasquez was selected to replace Wisconsin's Tom Clum at 133 pounds.

Tannenbaum is one of two University of Michigan participants in the event, Ryan Churella will wrestle Johny Henrdricks at 165 pounds.

Updated Line-up
125: Sam Hazewinkel (Oklahoma) vs. Nick Simmons (Michigan State)
133: Darrell Vasquez (Cal Poly) vs. Mack Reiter (Minnesota)
141: Teyon Ware (Oklahoma) vs. Nate Gallick (Iowa State)
149: Eric Tannenbaum (Michigan) vs. Zack Esposito (Oklahoma State)
157: Joe Johnston (Iowa) vs. Alex Tirapelle (Illinois)
165: Ryan Churella (Michgan) vs. Johny Hendricks (Oklahoma State)
174: Mark Perry (Iowa) vs. Jake Herbert (Northwestern)
184: Paul Bradley (Iowa) vs. Pete Friedl (Illinois)
197: Joel Flaggert (Oklahoma) vs. Jake Rosholt (Oklahoma State)
285: Cole Konrad (Minnesota) vs. Steve Mocco (Oklahoma State)

285: Josh LeadingFox (Central Oklahoma) vs. Tervel Dlagnev (Nebraska-Kearney)

The National Wrestling Coaches Association, established in 1928, is a professional organization dedicated to serve and provide leadership for the advancement of all levels of the sport of wrestling with primary emphasis on scholastic and collegiate programs. The membership embraces all people interested in amateur wrestling.

The NWCA, through its organizational structure, promotes communication, recognizes achievement, recommends rules and regulations, sponsors events, and serves as an educational and informational source. Additionally, the NWCA strives to foster the sportsmanship and integrity that are the cornerstones of athletic competition.
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.