Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Cliff Keen National Duals report - 3:00 p.m. session

3:00 p.m. session #2 Minnesota 30, #7 Nebraska 9 The Gophers had too much up and down the lineup for the Huskers. Leroy Vega opened the meet for the Gophers at 125 pounds, with a 12-6 victory over talented freshman Jason Powell. A big win for Minnesota came at 133 pounds, where No. 2 ranked Brett Lawrence edged No. 3 Todd Beckerman, 5-3. Minnesota won two more matches, with Chad Erikson receiving an injury default at 141 pounds after dominating Ty Mailia, and Jared Lawrence earning a major decision at 149 pounds. The Huskers won their first bout at 157, with No. 2 Bryan Snyder stopping No. 4 Luke Becker, 3-1. Brad Pike of the Gophers won at 165, and Jacob Volkmann upset No. 12 Ati Conner, 2-0 at 174 pounds, Matt Kraft kept up the Gopher run with a major decision at 184 pounds. NCAA champion Brad Vering of the Huskers received a forfeit at 197 pounds. The debut of Olympic bronze medalist Garrett Lowney capped the win for the Gophers, a 10-3 win over Pat Miron. #3 Iowa 20, #6 Michigan 18 Michigan gave Iowa everything it could handle after falling behind early. Jody Strittmatter of Iowa got the Hawkeyes off to a running start, with a pin over AJ Grant. NCAA champ Eric Juergens tacked on a major decision at 133 pounds, for a 10-0 lead after two bouts. Another past NCAA champion Doug Schwab pounded on Clark Forward, pressing him for a pin and a 16-0 Iowa lead. The momentum changed when Michigan scored a mild upset at 149, when No. 12 Mike Kulczycki led the entire way for a 5-4 win over No. 5 Mike Zadick. Former national champion T.J. Williams of Iowa kept on constant pressure for a 17-6 major decision and a 20-3 team lead. Michigan went on a run after that, led by an upset by No. 19 Charles Martelli over No. 8 Ben Shirk at 165 pounds. Top ranked Otto Olson edged No. 4 Gabe McMahon at 174 pounds, 10-9, No. 8 Andy Hrovat kept up the heat when he beat No. 6 Jessman Smith, 9-7 at 184 pounds. Joe DeGain continued the run at 197, with a 5-1 win over Ryan Fulsaas. It all come down to heavyweight, where Michigan's Matt Brink tried for a technical fall or pin, but was only able to beat Iowa's Josh Liddle, 7-0. Michigan won six of 10 matches but lost the meet. Consolation round one Penn State 20, Hofstra 12 The hosts, unranked nationally coming into the meet, battled No. 17 Hofstra tooth-and-nail for the entire meet. The Nittany Lions came back with passion, and fired up the local crowd, staying in the meet for another round. Hofstra won four of the first five matches, with decision victories by Tom Nodo (118), Jason DeBruin(141), Eric Schmeising (157) and Dennis Papadatos (157). Penn State squeezed in a win at 133 by Marat Tomaev. The host team ran away with the meet in the upper weights, sweeping the last five bouts. Doc Vecchio (165), Mark Becks (174), Jeff Knupp (184), Pete Mielnik (197) and Bob Jones (Hwt). Both Knupp and Mielnik scored major decisions. Edinboro 25, Virginia Tech 12 A battle of top EWL teams, Edinboro was ranked No. 15 and Virginia Tech No. 20 in the NWCA/ poll coming into the week. Jacob Gray opened with a win for the Scots at 125 pounds. Virginia Tech claimed the edge, leading 9-3 after the first three matches, with a pin by Jeremy Gaysek at 133 pounds and a decision by Sean Gray at 141 pounds. Cory Ace (149) and Ryan Shapert (157) gave Edinboro their first lead at 10-9 with wins. The Hokies won their last bout of the night with a Chris Martin win at 165 pounds. Edinboro swept the final four bouts, with a fall from Justin Millard at 184 pounds, and decisions by Josh Koschek (165), Dave Shanaman (197) and Kevin O'Meara (Hwt).
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.