Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site
Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Spectacular lineup featuring five NCAA champions set for NWCA All-Star Classic in Lancaster, Pa., Ja

A spectacular lineup of talented Div. I college wrestling stars have agreed to compete in the 34th Annual National Wrestling Coaches Association All-Star Classic. The competition is set for Monday, January 29 at 7:30 p.m. at Mayser Gym at Franklin and Marshall College in Lancaster, Pa. This annual extravaganza features the best athletes in each weight class in college wrestling competing in challenge matches. This event often affects the top individual ranking in the nation at each weight class. Five past NCAA Div. I individual champions will participate in the event: Eric Juergens of Iowa at 133 pounds, Doug Schwab of Iowa at 141 pounds, Don Pritzlaff of Wisconsin at 165 pounds, Cael Sanderson of Iowa State at 184 pounds and Brad Vering of Nebraska at 197 pounds. Sanderson, a junior, is a two-time NCAA champion and has still never lost a college match. Of the matchups in the tournament, five feature bouts between the No. 1 and No. 2 ranked wrestlers in the most recent Amateur Wrestling News individual rankings (141, 165, 174, 184, 197). It is one of the strongest fields in the tournament's history. The lineup is subject to change due to injury or other challenges. "We deeply appreciate the involvement and support of the athletes and coaches in this great event," said Mike Moyer, Executive Director of the National Wrestling Coaches Association. "There is a lot at stake here, as you can see from the rankings. Many have said they are doing this to promote the sport of wrestling, our association and the wrestling program at Franklin and Marshall College." Included in the lineup two matches featuring local athletes. Marc Hoffer of American University, who grew up in the region, will compete at 149 pounds. Host school wrestler Isaiah Hankel of Franklin and Marshall will wrestle at 157 pounds against Mike Bookwalter of Millersville, who attended high school locally. A total of 10 wrestlers in the meet have a Pennsylvania connection, either growing up in the state or attending a university in the state. Tickets to the NWCA All-Star Classic are $12 per person. Make checks payable to Franklin and Marshall College. For more information, call the Franklin and Marshall ticket office at 717-291-4359. Space is limited as the capacity for the arena is approximately 2,600 spectators. It is recommended that fans order their tickets right away. Coaches gain free admission to a special Dan Gable and Brandon Slay Clinic on Sunday, by purchasing 35 All-Star Classic tickets. (Payment for the 35 tickets must be made by January 23, and is limited to the first 50 coaches who purchase the ticket minimum). Tickets for the Dan Gable and Brandon Slay Clinic are $10 for adults and $5 for students (18 and under). It is suggested that local booster clubs should consider sponsoring wrestlers to attend this historic event. NWCA ALL-STAR CLASSIC LINEUP at Lancaster, Pa., January 29 125 lbs. - No. 2 Jody Strittmatter (Iowa) vs. No. 3 A.J. Grant (Michigan) 133 lbs. - No. 1 Eric Juergens (Iowa) vs. No. 3 Todd Beckerman (Nebraska) 141 lbs. - No. 1 Doug Schwab (Iowa) vs. No. 2 Michael Lightner (Oklahoma) 149 lbs. - No. 4 Dave Esposito (Lehigh) vs. No. 16 Jamarr Billman (Lock Haven) 149 lbs. - No. 6 Eric Schmeising (Hofstra) vs. No. 14 Marc Hoffer (American) 157 lbs. - No. 2 Bryan Snyder (Nebraska) vs. No. 5 Yoshi Nakamura (Pennsylvania) 157 lbs. - Isaiah Hankel (Franklin and Marshall) vs. Mike Bookwalter (Millersville) 165 lbs. - No. 1 Joe Heskett (Iowa State) vs. No. 2 Don Pritzlaff (Wisconsin) 174 lbs. - No. 1 Otto Olson (Michigan) vs. No. 2 Josh Koscheck (Edinboro) 184 lbs. - No. 1 Cael Sanderson (Iowa State) vs. No. 2 Daniel Cormier (Oklahoma State) 197 lbs. - No. 1 Brad Vering (Nebraska) vs. No. 2 Mark Munoz (Oklahoma State) 285 lbs. - No. 1 Tommy Rowlands (Ohio State) vs. No. 4 Ryan Kehler (West Virginia) Note - Rankings are Amateur Wrestling News rankings of January 15 Honorary Coaches - Greg Strobel, Lehigh; Roger Reina, Pennsylvania; Steve Strellner, Montclair State; David James, Central Oklahoma
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.