ASICS/Vaughan Junior & Cadet National Championships

Fargo, ND    July 18-24, 2010

      Become A Member   |   Message Boards   |   Future Olympian Rankings   |   Merchandise

Register Online
Live Text Results
   Event Contact
      Event Director: Pete Isais
      Phone: 719-598-8181

For Athletes
  • Event Schedule

  • Online Registration

  • Registration/Entry

  • Membership Requirements

  • Awards

  • Divisions

  • Coaching

  • Weighins & Medical

  • Uniforms

  • Rules & Bracketing

  • Eligibility

  • Michigan's Rodriguez wins Triple Crown, Minnesota's McCauley named OW after winning Junior Nationals freestyle titles
    By Craig Sesker - USA Wrestling

    Related Links
    Fargo Special Section

    Michigan’s Freddie Rodriguez takes control in the Junior freestyle finals. John Sachs photo.

    FARGO, N.D. – Michigan’s Freddie Rodriguez bumped up a weight class, but it didn’t stop him from making a little history.

    Rodriguez won a Junior Nationals freestyle title at 112 pounds to complete the USA Wrestling Triple Crown in the Junior division on Saturday afternoon at the FargoDome. He becomes just the second wrestler to win a Junior Triple Crown.

    Rodriguez won a Junior Nationals Folkstyle title earlier this year in Cedar Falls, Iowa, before winning the Junior Nationals Greco-Roman crown on Tuesday at 105 pounds.

    Rodriguez dropped the first period 6-0 to Maryland’s Evan Silver in the Junior freestyle finals before storming back to win the next two periods 6-2, 7-0.

    Montana’s Jade Rauser won a Junior Triple Crown last year. Juniors have been eligible for the Triple Crown since 2007.

    Minnesota’s Destin McCauley, one of the nation’s top recruits, looked dominant in sweeping California’s Matt Hickman, 3-1, 6-0 at 152. McCauley finished third in Junior Nationals in 2009. He will look to win his fifth state high school title next season.

    McCauley was named Outstanding Wrestler.

    Illinois won the team title. Illinois crowned champions in Matt Garelli (98) and Eddie Klimara (125).

    Wisconsin’s Alex Dieringer emerged victorious in one of the best matches of the day when he outlasted Minnesota’s Dylan Ness 6-4, 1-2, 6-5 in the finals at 145. Dieringer also beat Ness in the Junior Folkstyle Nationals finals this year.

    Florida’s Tyler Liberatore won a Junior Nationals freestyle title at 130 to become a double champion in Fargo. He won Junior Nationals in Greco-Roman earlier this week.

    Iowa had champions in Jacob Ballweg (140) and Nick Moore (160). Both wrestlers are University of Iowa recruits.

    Moore pinned Nebraska recruit Robert Kokesh of South Dakota in the finals. Moore’s older brother, Nate, was a two-time Junior Nationals champion. He won in 2007 and 2008.

    Idaho’s Tanner Hall won the freestyle title at 215 after placing second in Greco-Roman.

    Wrestlers who also won titles were Connecticut’s Ross Spencer (105), Utah’s Carson Kuhn (119), New Jersey’s Austin Ormsbee (135), South Dakota’s Logan Storley (171), California’s Morgan McIntosh (189) and Ohio’s Greg Kuhar (285).

    Spencer beat returning Junior Nationals champion Ruben Navejas of Washington 1-1, 3-1 in the finals.

    Kuhn won a 2008 Cadet Nationals freestyle championship. He is a Boise State recruit.

    It was the final session of the seven-day ASICS/Vaughan Junior and Cadet Nationals. The event is scheduled to return to Fargo in 2011.


    98 POUNDS
    Matt Garelli (Illinois) dec. Mark Raghunandan (New York), 3-1, 6-0

    105 POUNDS
    Ross Spencer (Connecticut) dec. Ruben Navejas (Washington), 1-1, 3-1

    112 POUNDS
    Freddie Rodriguez (Michigan) dec. Evan Silver (Maryland), 0-6, 6-2, 7-0

    119 POUNDS
    Carson Kuhn (Utah) dec. Hunter Weber (Wisconsin), 2-0, 4-0

    125 POUNDS
    Eddie Klimara (Illinois) dec. Zachary Horan (Pennsylvania), 0-2, 3-1, 2-0

    130 POUNDS
    Tyler Liberatore (Florida) dec. Matt Kelliher (Minnesota), 5-2, 2-1

    135 POUNDS
    Austin Ormsbee (New Jersey) dec. Terrell Wilbourn (Missouri), 2-0, 5-2

    140 POUNDS
    Jacob Ballweg (Iowa) dec. Edwin Cooper (Illinois), 1-0, 7-0

    145 POUNDS
    Alex Dieringer (Wisconsin) dec. Dylan Ness (Minnesota), 6-4, 1-2, 6-5

    152 POUNDS
    Destin McCauley (Minnesota) dec. Matt Hickman (California), 3-1, 6-0

    160 POUNDS
    Nick Moore (Iowa) pinned Robert Kokesh (South Dakota), 1:38

    171 POUNDS
    Logan Storley (South Dakota) dec. Nick Sulzer (Ohio), 2-1, 4-2

    189 POUNDS
    Morgan McIntosh (California) pinned Matthew Riley (Iowa), 1:10

    215 POUNDS
    Tanner Hall (Idaho) pinned Cody Krumwiede (Iowa), 3-2, 0:38

    285 POUNDS
    Greg Kuhar (Ohio) dec. Chris Lopez (Illinois), 5-2, 1-0
      For Fans
  • Map To Venue

  • Tickets & Admission

  • Hotels & Accommodations

  • Event News

  • Brackets & Results

  • Photo Galleries

  • Audio & Video

  • Related Content

  • Past Results

  • Event Sponsors

    © 2000-2014 USA Wrestling & All Rights Reserved