2009 World Team Trials

Council Bluffs, IA    May 30-31, 2009

      Become A Member   |   Message Boards   |   Future Olympian Rankings   |   Merchandise

   Event Contact
      Event Director: Steve Beuning
      Phone: (719) 598-8181
      Email: sbeuning@usawrestling.org

For Athletes
  • Event Schedule

  • Registration/Entry

  • Membership Requirements

  • Divisions

  • Weighins & Medical

  • Uniforms

  • Eligibility

  • USA Wrestling holds annual awards reception in Council Bluffs
    By Gary Abbott -

    Related Links
    SEE VIDEO of USA Wrestling annual awards reception
    SEE PHOTOS by Larry Slater from awards reception

    USA Wrestling held its annual awards reception between the first and second session of the World Team Trials, presented by the U.S. Marines, at the Mid-America Center in Council Bluffs, Iowa on May 30.

    Click here for video of the awards reception

    See photos from award reception

    Last year's USA Wrestling Man of the Year Van Stokes conducted the ceremonies, and awards were presented by USA Wrestling President James Ravannack.

    Complete stories and biographies of these award winners will be posted on TheMat.com in the next few weeks, starting with the Man and Woman of the Year.

    Those honored this year by USA Wrestling were:

    USA Wrestling Man of the Year - Sonny Greenhalgh, West Patterson, N.J.
    USA Wrestling Woman of the Year - Sue Hesser, Hillsboro, Ind.

    USA Wrestling Freestyle Wrestler of the Year - Henry Cejudo, Colorado Springs, Colo. (Sunkist Kids)
    USA Wrestling Greco-Roman Wrestler of the Year - Adam Wheeler, Colorado Springs, Colo. (Gator WC)
    USA Wrestling Women's Wrestler of the Year - Randi Miller, Colorado Springs, Colo. (Gator WC)

    USA Wrestling Freestyle Coach of the Year - Sean Bormet, Naperville, Ill.
    USA Wrestling Greco-Roman Coach of the Year - Brandon Paulson, Anoka, Minn.
    USA Wrestling Women's Coach of the Year - Tadaaki Hatta, Elyria, Ohio

    USA Wrestling Lifetime Service Award - Bill Smith, Dode, Iowa
    USA Wrestling Lifetime Service Award - Glen Brand (posthumously)

    USA Wrestling Special Recognition - Dave Bennett, Colorado Springs, Colo.
    USA Wrestling Special Recognition - Anatoly Petrosyan, Colorado Springs, Colo.
    USA Wrestling Special Recognition - Ed and Shirley Aliverti, Edmond, Wash.
      For Fans
  • Map To Venue

  • Tickets & Admission

  • Facebook Page

  • Hotels & Accommodations

  • Event News

  • Brackets & Results

  • Photo Galleries

  • Audio & Video

  • Related Content

  • Event Sponsors

    © 2000-2014 USA Wrestling & TheMat.com. All Rights Reserved