Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site

Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

EIWA to Add Four Teams for 2013-14 season: Binghamton, Boston U, Drexel & Hofstra
John Harmon EIWA

Effective with the next academic year, the Eastern Intercollegiate Wrestling Association (EIWA) will add Binghamton University, Boston University, Drexel University and Hofstra University to full membership in the nation’s oldest wrestling conference.

The announcement came from Greg Strobel, Executive Director of the EIWA.

“We had an extensive application process”, said Strobel. “We were contacted by several teams about joining our conference, and we had full involvement of our wrestling coaches and school administrators in making our decision.”

The first formal application came from Binghamton last Fall, and Boston announced that they were joining the Patriot League in all sports. The Patriot League does not sponsor wrestling, but all Patriot League teams which sponsor wrestling are members of the EIWA.

Formal applications were also received from Drexel and Hofstra.

The EIWA Executive Committee, consisting of athletic administrators from American, Bucknell, Cornell and Navy, recommended approval of the applications, and the coaches and administrators from the fourteen member schools unanimously approved the recommendation.

Boston University has announced that wrestling will be discontinued after the 2014 season, but an aggressive campaign is being waged to save the sport. For more information about Save BU Wrestling, go to or Twitter: #savebuwrestling
Binghamton is coached by Matt Dernlan. The Bearcats qualified four wrestlers for the NCAA Championships in 2013.

Boston is coached by Carl Adams, who just completed his 33rd year as head coach. The Terriers had three NCAA qualifiers in 2013.

Drexel is coached by Matt Azevedo. The Dragons had two NCAA qualifiers in 2013.

Hofstra is coached by Robert Anspach. The Pride had three NCAA qualifiers in 2013, and won several conference championships during their tenure in the Colonial Athletic Association.

The EIWA had its origins as the nation’s first wrestling conference in 1905, when students at Columbia, Penn, Princeton and Yale formed the first intercollegiate wrestling conference.

For many years, the conference grew and effectively served as a national championship until the emergence of wrestling in the Midwest, and the formation of the NCAA Wrestling Championships in 1928.

Current members of the EIWA are American, Army, Brown, Bucknell, Columbia, Cornell, Franklin & Marshall, Harvard, Lehigh, Navy, Penn, Princeton, Rutgers and Sacred Heart.

Go Back
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.