Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site

Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Fans can now vote for Jordan Burroughs for the AAU Sullivan Award as top U.S. amateur athlete
Meagan Templeton-Lynch USA Wrestling

Public voting for the 83rd AAU James E. Sullivan Award began Tuesday, where fans can select their choice for an athlete to move on in the selection process for this prestigious award. The wrestling community is proud to support semi-finalist and Olympic and World gold medalist Jordan Burroughs.

Fans can cast their vote online at for this award.

Voting closes March 17 at 11:59 p.m. EST. Finalists will travel to Orlando, Florida in April for the winner announcement and award ceremony.

The award is presented by the Amateur Athletic Union (AAU) to an outstanding amateur athlete each year. Past wrestlers who have won the AAU James E. Sullivan Award were John Smith in 1990, Bruce Baumgartner in 1995 and Rulon Gardner in 2000. Smith was a four-time World and two-time Olympic champion, Baumgartner was a three-time World and two-time Olympic champion and Gardner won one World and one Olympic gold medal.

Competing against Burroughs are semi-finalists Darren Barnes (weightlifting); David Boudia (diving); Liz Brenner (volleyball, basketball, softball and track and field); Isaiah Canaan (basketball); Elena Delle Donne (basketball); Gabrielle Douglas (gymnastics); Missy Franklin (swimming); Brittney Griner (basketball); Steve Johnson (tennis); Barrett Jones (football); Claressa Shields (boxing); Maggie Steffens (water polo); Breanna Stewart (basketball) and Mike Zunino (baseball).

It would be outstanding if another wrestling hero were to win this esteemed award. Please take the time to vote before March 17 and share with your wrestling friends and contacts.

Go Back
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.