Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site

Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Metcalf wins silver, Scott places fifth in Yarygin Grand Prix in Russia
Gary Abbott USA Wrestling

Brent Metcalf of the USA receives his silver medal at the 2013 Ivan Yarygin Memorial. Petr Petrov photo

KRASNOYARSK, Russia - Brent Metcalf (Iowa City, Iowa/New York AC) claimed a silver medal at 66 kg/145.5 lbs. at the Ivan Yarygin Grand Prix on Saturday. The Yarygin Grand Prix is considered one of the toughest international meets in the world each year.

Metcalf, a 2010 U.S. World Team member, won four straight matches to qualify for the finals. He opened with a win over Tomotsugu Ishida of Japan, then defeated 2001 World bronze medalist Alexander Kontoev of Belarus. In the quarterfinals

In the third match, Metcalf stopped Soslan Ramonov of Russia, who eventually won a bronze medal. His semifinal win came over 2012 Junior World champion Magomed Kurbanaliev of Russia.

Metcalf was defeated in the finals by Iliyas Bekbulatov of Russia. Bekbulatov was a 2012 FILA Golden Grand Prix bronze medalist in Azerbaijan.

Metcalf’s previous best finish at the Ivan Yarygin International was fifth in 2011. Metcalf was a two-time NCAA champion for Iowa. The last American to win a silver medal at the Yarygin Grand Prix was Tervel Dlagnev at 120 kg/264.5 in 2012.

2012 Olympic bronze medalist Coleman Scott (Stillwater, Okla./Titan Mercury WC) placed fifth at 60 kg/132 lbs. He opened with victories over Rusam Abdurashidov of Russia and 2010 Asian silver medalits Shogo Maeda of Japan.

In his third match, Scott was defeated by two-time European champion Opan Sat of Russia. When Sat reached the finals, he pulled Scott back into the repechage. Sat went on to win the gold medal.

Scott won his first repechage match, stopping Bato Badmaev of Russia. In the bronze-medal match, Scott was defeated by Daulet Niyazbekov of Kazakhstan, who was a 2011 World bronze medalist and placed fifth at the 2012 Olympic Games.

This was Scott’s first competition since winning his Olympic medal in London, England in August.

The final American competes on Sunday, Keith Gavin (Columbus, Ohio/Lehigh Valley AC) at 84 kg/185 lbs.

Only 10 U.S. athletes have ever won this event in men’s freestyle. The last American men’s freestyle champion was Steve Mocco in 2009. All 10 of the winners were Olympians during their career, with six winning Olympic medals and four winning Olympic gold medals.

The Russian Wrestling Federation is providing a live webcast from the Ivan Yarygin International at:
Yarygin Grand Prix webcast

At Krasnoyarsk, Russia, January 26

Men’s freestyle medalists

60 kg/132 lbs.
Gold - Opan Sat (Russia
Silver - Alexander Bogomoev (Russia)
Bronze - Daulet Niyazbekov (Kazakhstan)
Bronze - Noriyuki Takatsuha (Japan)

66 kg/145.5 lbs.
Gold - Ilyas Bekbulatov (Russia)
Silver - Brandon Metcalf (USA)
Bronze - Soslan Ramonov (Russia)
Bronze - Rasul Murtazaliev (Russia)

U.S. men’s freestyle results

60 kg/132 lbs. - Coleman Scott, Stillwater, Okla. (Titan Mercury WC), 5th
WIN Rusam Abdurashidov (Russia), 1-0, 5-2
WIN Shogo Maeda (Japan), 2-4, 2-0, 4-0
LOSS Opan Sat (Russia), 0-2, 0-7
WIN Bato Badmaev (Russia), 4-0
LOSS Daulet Niyazbekov (Kazakhstan), 0-1, 0-1

66 kg/145.5 lbs. - Brent Metcalf, Iowa City, Iowa (New York AC), 2nd
WIN Tomotsugu Ishida (Japan), 0-3, 2-2, 2-0
WIN Alexander Kontoev (Belarus), 1-0, 1-0
WIN Soslan Ramonov (Russia), 1-1, 0-4, 2-0
WIN Magomed Kurbanaliev (Russia), 0-1, 5-0, 7-0
LOSS Iliyas Bekbulatov (Russia), 0-8, 0-2

66 kg/145.5 lbs. - Chase Pami, Colorado Springs, Colo. (Sunkist Kids), dnp
LOSS Azamatyi Pshnatlov (Russia)

U.S. men's freestyle draws for Sunday

84 kg/185 lbs. - Keith Gavin (Columbus, Ohio/Lehigh Valley AC)
Vs. Tcingel Ebaya (China)

Women’s freestyle medalists

48 kg/105.5 lbs.
1. Valeria Chepsarakova (Russia)
2. Elena Vostrikova (Russia)
3. Iago Yuka (Japan)
3. Enhzhargal Tsogtbazar (Mongolia).

55 kg/121 lbs.
1. Hope Tretyakov (Russia)
2. Babtseren Sunde (Mongolia)
3. Victoria Shulgin (Russia)
3. Katsuko Sakagami (Japan).

63 kg/138.75 lbs.
1. Anastasia Grigorieva (Latvia)
2. Rio Watari (Japan)
3. Inna Trazhukova (Russia)
3. Batcheg Soronzonbold (Mongolia).

72 kg/158.5 lbs.
1. Natalia Vorobyov (Russia)
2. Burman Ochirbat (Mongolia)
3. Vasilisa Marzaliuk (Belarus)
3. Ksenia Burakova (Russia)

Go Back
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.