Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site

Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Sanders named Outstanding Wrestler in Greco-Roman at Minnesota Storm Holiday Cup
Gary Abbott USA Wrestling

Kendrick Sanders of the New York AC, shown at the 2012 Dave Schultz Memorial, added another title at 66 kg with a win at the inaugural Minnesota Storm Holiday Cup. Larry Slater photo

ROCHESTER, Minn. – Kendrick Sanders (Homestead, Fla./New York AC) captured the 66 kg/145.5 lbs. division and was named Outstanding Wrestler in Greco-Roman at the inaugural Minnesota Storm Holiday Cup on Saturday.

In a battle of two of the top Greco-Roman stars in the nation, Sanders defeated RaVaughn Perkins (Omaha, Neb./ReadyRP Nationals), 0-2, 3-0, 5-0. Sanders is a member of the U.S. Olympic Education Center team at Northern Michigan. Perkins is fresh off a gold-medal performance at the New York AC International in November.

Three members of the U.S. Army World Class Athlete Program based in Fort Carson, Colo. claimed individual gold medals in Greco-Roman: Nate Engel at 55 kg/121 lbs., Jon Anderson at 74 kg/163 lbs. and Erik Nye at 120 kg/264.5 lbs.

Engel scored a victory over Arthur Carmona (Brawley, Calif./USOEC), in the finals, 1-0, 2-0.

Anderson, a member of the 2012 U.S. University World Team, defeated 2010 U.S. World Team member Jake Fisher (Minneapolis, Minn./Minnesota Storm), 2-0, 0-1, 1-0.

Nye captured the title by going 4-0 in a five–athlete roundrobin at heavyweight. Among his wins was a 2-0, 2-0 victory over Parker Betts (St. Michael, Minn./Minnesota Storm / USOEC), the eventual runner-up.

Joining Sanders as a champion from the U.S. Olympic Education Center program was Jessy Williams (Windsor, N.Y./USOEC/New York AC), who beat USOEC teammate Mason Bradford (West Chapel, Fla./USOEC) in the finals, 1-4, 6-0, 4-0.

The host Minnesota Storm had a pair of winners, Jordan Holm (Minneapolis, Minn./Minnesota Storm) at 84 kg/185 lbs. and John Wechter (Minneapolis, Minn./Minnesota Storm) at 96 kg/211.5 lbs.

Wechter defeated Ethan Dondlinger (Slinger, Wis./USOEC), in the finals, 2-0, 1-0. Holm won his division uncontested.

There were two women’s weight classes contested. The individual champions shared the Outstanding Wrestler Award for the women, Haley Augello (Lockport, Ill./New York AC) at 55 kg/121 lbs. and Sydney Nelson (Kingsland, Ga./UCWW) at 67 kg/147.5 lbs.

Augello won both matches in her best-of-three series over Sheri Berube (Corbell, Mich./UCWW). The finals series at 67 kg/147.5 lbs. went the full three bouts. Nelson lost the first match to her Univ. of the Cumberlands teammate Brittney Gadd (Mercer, Pa./UCWW), but bounced back to win the second and third matches to claim the title.

The event was webcast live on and

It is being held alongside the Minnesota Christmas Tournament, a major high school event, which was also provided as a live webcast.

At Rochester, Minn., December 15

Greco-Roman results

55 kg/121 lbs.
1st - Nate Engel (Army WCAP) dec. Arthur Carmona (USOEC), 1-0, 2-0
3rd - Max Nowry (NYAC) dec. Isaiah Varona (USOEC), 2-0, 1-0

60 kg/132 lbs.
1st - Jessy Williams (USOEC/NYAC) dec. Mason Bradford (USOEC), 1-4, 6-0, 4-0
3rd - Dimitry Ryabchinsky (NYAC) dec. Julian Gunnels (Minnesota Storm), 1-0, 4-1

66 kg /145.5 lbs.
1st - Kendrick Sanders (New York Athletic Club) dec. RaVaughn Perkins (ReadyRP Nationals), 0-2,3-0,5-0
3rd - Nick Alvarez (USOEC) dec. Devon Scott (Minnesota Storm), 1-0, 3-0

74 kg/163 lbs.
1st - Jon Anderson (Army WCAP) dec. Jake Fisher (Minnesota Storm), 2-0, 0-1, 1-0
3rd - Jonathan Drendel (USOEC) dec. Tanner Andrews (New York Athletic Club), 4-2, 0-1, 1-0

84 kg/185 lbs.
1st - Jordan Holm (Minnesota Storm)

96 kg / 211.5 lbs.
1st - John Wechter (Minnesota Storm) dec. Ethan Dondlinger (USOEC), 2-0, 1-0
3rd - Ruslan Mukhamadiyarov (Greater Chicago Wrestlers) dec. Patrick Carey (TWC/Arizona Wrestling Club), 0-4,1-0,1-0

120 kg/264.5 lbs.
1st Place - Erik Nye (Army WCAP)
2nd Place - Parker Betts (Minnesota Storm / USOEC)
3rd Place - Nick Severson (Team Unit)
4th Place - Toby Erickson (USOEC/NYAC)
5th Place - Nicholas Poehlman (RFL)
Toby Erickson (USOEC/NYAC) tech. fall Nicholas Poehlman (RFL), 6-1, 7-0
Erik Nye (Army WCAP) pin Nick Severson (Team Unit), 1:28
Erik Nye (Army WCAP) dec. Parker Betts (Minnesota Storm / USOEC), 2-0,2-0
Nick Severson (Team Unit) pin Nicholas Poehlman (RFL), 0:31
Parker Betts (Minnesota Storm / USOEC) pin Nick Severson (Team Unit), 0-1,1:59
Erik Nye (Army WCAP) dec. Toby Erickson (USOEC/NYAC), 4-0, 1-0
Parker Betts (Minnesota Storm / USOEC) inj. dft. Toby Erickson (USOEC/NYAC)
Erik Nye (Army WCAP) pin Nicholas Poehlman (RFL), 0:47
Parker Betts (Minnesota Storm / USOEC) inj. dft. Nicholas Poehlman (RFL)
Nick Severson (Team Unit) inj. dft. Toby Erickson (USOEC/NYAC)

Women’s freestyle results

55 kg/121 lbs.
1st Place - Haley Augello of NYAC
2nd Place - Sheri Berube of UCWW
Best-of-three series
Haley Augello (NYAC) dec. Sheri Berube (UCWW), 6-1,4-0
Haley Augello (NYAC) dec. Sheri Berube (UCWW), 7-0,6-1

67 kg/147.5 lbs.
1st Place - Sydney Nelson of UCWW
2nd Place - Brittney Gadd of UCWW
Best-of-three series
Brittney Gadd (UCWW) dec. Sydney Nelson (UCWW), 1-0,1-2,1-0
Sydney Nelson (UCWW) dec. Brittney Gadd (UCWW), 2-0, 7-1
Sydney Nelson (UCWW) dec. Brittney Gadd (UCWW), 2-1, 2-1

Go Back
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.