Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site

Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

UPDATE: Ohio State edges Missouri by one point to win Cliff Keen Las Vegas Invitational
Gary Abbott USA Wrestling

Logan Stieber of Ohio State won his second Cliff Keen Las Vegas International gold at 133 pounds and was named Outstanding Wrestler. Larry Slater photo

Led by individual champions Logan Stieber at 133 pounds and Hunter Stieber at 141 pounds, Ohio State defended its team title at the Cliff Keen Las Vegas Invitational on Saturday. The Buckeyes edged Missouri by one point in the final standings, 124.5 to 123.5.

Missouri led after the semifinal round and had four finalists, and came home with two champions, Alan Waters at 125 pounds and Dom Bradley at 285 pounds.

Helping Ohio State make up the difference after the semifinals was the fact that three Buckeyes wrestled back to take fourth place after falling short of the finals: Nikko Triggas (125), Cam Tessari (149) and Peter Capone (285). Missouri had only one athlete wrestle back to fourth, Zach Toal at 165 pounds.

Logan Stieber was one of the three returning NCAA champions to claim titles. Stieber, who won a 2012 NCAA title, beat Nathan McCormick of Missouri, 12-1. He was named Outstanding Wrestler of the competition.

Three-time NCAA champion Kyle Dake of Cornell defeated Steven Monk of North Dakota State in the finals at 165 pounds, 6-0.

2011 NCAA champion Dustin Kilgore of Kent State edged Alfonso Hernandez of Wyoming at 197 pounds, 5-4.

Hunter Stieber reversed the outcome of last year’s Cliff Keen finals, when he beat returning champion Michael Mangrum of Oregon State, 9-6. Mangrum won that match last year, 6-3.

Bradley won the final match of the gold-medal round, stopping Chad Hanke of Oregon State, 3-2 in a battle of 2012 Olympic redshirts. Bradley needed additional bonus points in that match to pull Missouri over the top, but was unable to do so against the tough Hanke.

Other individual champions were Jason Chamberlain of Boise State at 149 pounds, R.J. Pena of Oregon State at 157 pounds and a pair of Nebraska stars, Robert Kokesh at 174 pounds and Josh Ihnen at 184 pounds.

Rounding out the top five teams were Cornell with 104.5 points, Oregon State with 98.5 points and Nebraska with 89.5 points.

Logan Stieber and Dake were the only champions from 2011 to repeat as Cliff Keen Las Vegas Invitational champions.

Special thanks to the live blog from Seton Hall Pirate on InterMat, as well as the efforts of Escape Sports, which provided brackets and agate from the event.

At Las Vegas, Nevada, December 1

Athlete seeds for Cliff Keen LV International listed

125 pounds
No. 1 Alan Waters (Missouri) dec. No. 2 Nahshon Garrett (Cornell), 6-4

133 pounds
No. 1 Logan Stieber (Ohio State) maj. dec. No. 2 Nathan McCormick (Missouri), 12-1

141 pounds
No. 1 Hunter Stieber (Ohio State) dec. No. 2 Michael Mangrum (Oregon State), 9-6

149 pounds
No. 2 Jason Chamberlain (Boise State) dec. No. 4 Cole VonOhlen (Air Force), 6-3

157 pounds
No. 3 R.J. Pena (Oregon State) dec. No. 9 Jedd Moore (Virginia), 9-7

165 pounds
No. 1 Kyle Dake (Cornell) dec. No. 2 Steven Monk (North Dakota State), 6-0

174 pounds
No. 1 Robert Kokesh (Nebraska) medical forfeit over No. 3 Dan Yates (Michigan)

184 pounds
No. 1 Josh Ihnen (Nebraska) pin No. 3 Mike Larson (Missouri), 2:13

197 pounds
No. 1 Dustin Kilgore (Kent State) dec. No. 2 Alfonso Hernandez (Wyoming), 5-4

285 pounds
No. 1 Dom Bradley (Missouri) vs. No. 2 Chad Hanke (Oregon State), 3-2

Other Medal matches

125 pounds
3rd – Josh Martinez (Air Force) dec. Nikko Triggas (Ohio State) 4-3
5th – David Terao (American) pin Tyler Cox (Wyoming), 4:40
7th – Jesse Hillhouse (CSU-Pueblo) med. forfeit Jade Rauser (Utah Valley)

133 pounds
3rd – Devon Lotito (Cal Poly) dec. Levi Wolfensperger (Northern Iowa), 4-3
5th – George DiCamillo (Virginia) pin Ian Nickell (CSU-Bakersfield), 0:59
7th – Joshua Rodriguez (North Dakota State) dec. Thomas Kelliher (Wisconsin), 6-4

141 pounds
3rd – Tyler Graff (Wisconsin) dec. Mike Nevinger (Cornell), 5-2
5th – Steven Keith (Harvard) dec. Nathan Pennesi (West Virginia), 8-6
7th – Ridge Kiley (Nebraska) dec. Timmy Box (CSU-Bakersfield), 9-5

149 pounds
3rd – Jake Sueflohn (Nebraska) dec. Cam Tessari (Ohio State), 7-5
5th – Scott Sakaguchi (Oregon State) dec. Chris Villalonga (Cornell), 10-3
7th – Justin Gonzalez (Northern Colorado) med forfeit Daniel Young (Army)

157 pounds
3rd – Andy McCulley (Wyoming) pin Bobby Barnhisel (Navy), 6:00
5th – David Bonin (Northern Iowa) dec. Gabe Martinez (Air Force), 6-0
7th – Georgi Ivanov (Boise State) med forfeit James Green (Nebraska)

165 pounds
3rd – Nick Sulzer (Virginia) dec. Zach Toal (Missouri), 5-2
5th – Taylor Massa (Michigan) tech fall Peyton Walsh (Navy), 19-3
7th – Paul Hancock (Army) maj. dec. Joseph Brewster (South Dakota State), 16-3

174 pounds
3rd – Blake Stauffer (Arizona State) med forfeit Matthew Miller (Navy)
5th – Bryce Hammond (CSU Bakersfield) dec. Scott Liegel (Wisconsin), 8-2
7th – Cody Caldwell (Northern Iowa) dec. Todd Porter (Missouri), 13-9

184 pounds
3rd – Ryan Loder (Northern Iowa) dec. Jacob Swartz (Boise State), 4-3
5th – Casey Newburg (Kent State) dec. Mason Bailey (Navy), 6-4
7th – Kevin Radford (Arizona State) med forfeit Lance Bryson (West Virginia)

197 pounds
3rd – Jake Meredith (Arizona State) dec. Taylor Meeks (Oregon State), 7-0
5th – Andrew Campolattano (Ohio State) maj dec. Brent Haynes (Missouri), 13-1
7th – Jace Bennett (Cornell) med forfeit Maxwell Huntley (Michigan)

285 pounds
3rd – J.T. Felix (Boise State) dec. Peter Capone (Ohio State), 3-2
5th – Connor Medbery (Wisconsin) dec. Stryker Lane (Cornell), 7-3
7th – Charles Merrill (Cal Baptist) dec. Henry Chirino (Northern Colorado), 8-5

Team Standings
1 Ohio State, 124.5
2 Missouri, 123.5
3 Cornell, 104.5
4 Oregon State, 98.5
5 Nebraska, 89.5
6 Boise State, 76.0
7 Virginia, 64.5
8 Northern Iowa, 62.5
9 Wyoming, 58.0
10 Navy, 56.0
11 US Air Force Academy 53.5
12 Michigan 52.5
13 Arizona State 52.0
14 Wisconsin 51.5
15 CSU Bakersfield 44.0
16 Kent State 42.0
17 North Dakota State 37.5
18 West Virginia 30.5
19 American 29.5
19 Northern Colorado 29.5
21 Cal Poly 27.0
22 CSU- Pueblo 21.0
23 Utah Valley 20.5
24 Army 19.0
24 Harvard 19.0
26 California Baptist (Calif.) 13.5
27 Nebraska-Kearney 12.0
28 North Idaho College 10.0
29 San Francisco State 9.5
29 South Dakota State 9.5
31 Western Wyoming College 7.5
32 Brown 6.5

Go Back
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.