Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site

Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

Strong field set for historic 50th Ken Kraft Midlands Championships, Dec. 29-30
Betsy Golomski Northwestern

Golden anniversary of tournament features more than 30 Division I programs

EVANSTON, Ill. – The 50th Ken Kraft Midlands Championships will take place Saturday, Dec. 29-Sunday, Dec. 30, inside Northwestern’s Welsh-Ryan Arena and more than 30 Division I teams, along with an assortment of national champions and finalists from Division II and III programs, are participating in this historic event.

The annual tournament regularly features some of the top programs in the country. Of the 32 Division I teams at this year’s Midlands, 14 of them placed in the top-25 at the 2012 NCAA Championships.

Northwestern also welcomes several newcomers to Midlands this year. Michigan, who won the first edition of the tournament in 1963, returns to Midlands for the first time since 2002. Oregon State, North Carolina and Binghamton were also added to the 50th anniversary field while Big Ten foe Nebraska returns after a year absence.

Seven conference squads will be represented at Midlands as Northwestern, Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Nebraska, Purdue and Wisconsin are included in this year’s field.

Northwestern placed second at the 2011 Midlands Championships, its best finish in school history. NU Midlands Champions Jason Welch (two-time All-American, 157 lbs.) and Lee Munster (174 lbs.) return to this year’s field, along with 2012 All-American heavyweight Mike McMullan.

A complete list of Division I teams participating in the 50th Ken Kraft Midlands Championships can be found below:

Division I Teams:
Central Michigan
Eastern Michigan

Iowa State
Kent State

North Dakota State
Northern Illinois
Northern Iowa
North Carolina
Oregon State

Virginia Tech


• Bold indicates the team placed in the top 25 at the 2012 NCAA Championships

With this year marking the 50th anniversary of the tournament, we want to know, what have been your favorite Midlands memories over the past 49 years? Tell us your memories and you could win a FREE commemorative Midlands t-shirt! For more information on how to submit your Midlands memories, click here.

Be sure to secure your seats now for the 50th Ken Kraft Midlands Championships by calling 1-888-GO-PURPLE or by filling out an order form.

Go Back
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.