Download our Mobile App                  

  Search The Site

Top News Stories... moving to USOC website platform with new look and functionality

This week, will move to the USOC platform, with a new look, new functionality, but with the same favorite features....

Terry Shockley named Chairman of the Board of Governors of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame

Shockley will succeed long-time chairman Jim Keen. Sr. as Chairman of the Board....

Iowa's Tony Ramos determined to finish career with NCAA title

The Hawkeye senior will battle Virginia Tech's Devin Carter in the NWCA All-Star Classic on Saturday....

NCAA announces finalist cities for its championships for 2014-18, including wrestling at all levels

Cleveland, Kansas City, Louisville, New York City, Oklahoma City, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia & St. Louis are Div. I finalists. Div. II and III finalists also announced....

FILA revives Cadet World Championships, and expands men’s World Cup
USA Wrestling

In a circular sent to national wrestling federations, the international wrestling federation FILA has announced two major changes in its competition program for the 2011 year.

FILA will revive the Cadet World Championships starting with the 2011 calendar year.

According to the circular, “Further to the decision made by IOC to create the Youth Olympic Games and supported by all summer and winter Olympic International Federations, the FILA Bureau reconsidered its decision to cancel the Cadet World Championships.”

FILA Cadets are athletes who are 15-17 years old.

The last year which Cadet World Championships were hosted was in 1999, when men and women’s freestyle was held in Lodz, Poland and Greco-Roman was held in Nykobing Falster, Denmark. That year, U.S. wrestlers who won Cadet World titles were Harry Lester in men’s freestyle and Mary Kelly in women’s freestyle.

FILA also indicated that the World Cup events for men’s freestyle and Greco-Roman would expand from eight teams to 10 teams.

The top eight teams from the most recent World Championships would automatically be included in the World Cups. According to the circular, the two new teams would be composed in the following manner:

“− The 9th team will be able to be reinforced by wrestlers from another non-qualified country and will bear both names,
− The 10th team will be made of the best wrestlers from Africa and will be named African Selection”

The Women’s World Cup will remain at eight teams.

Go Back
Untitled Document
© Copyright 2000-2014 USA Wrestling, All rights reserved.
Contents of this site may not used without the expressed written consent of USA Wrestling.